Drinking liberally

I stopped by my local liquor store this evening in the hopes of getting my hands on a six-pack of the recently launched local beer DC Brau. Unfortunately, they were all sold out and didn’t expect to have any more in stock for a few weeks. (From what I gather, it’s been quite popular.)

Of course, I didn’t want to leave empty handed, and as I was browsing the cooler, this caught my eye:

Yep, that’s Blue State lager, “the progressive choice,” brewed by Appalachian Brewing Company in Harrisburg, Pa. They also have an ale, Red State (“the conservative choice”). Maybe they need something for independents–Purple Pilsner?

Anyway, it was priced at $4.99, which made me suspicious. So I asked the proprietor if it was any good or just some kind of novelty product. He said it was cheaper than Budweiser but tasted better, which seemed like a good value. And you know, it’s pretty good! Although, to me an ale seems like a more liberal beer and a lager more conservative.

Leave a Reply

