ATR summer reading list

I have several books going now, and I always feel guilty if I don’t finish a book I’ve started. But I also have a bad habit of borrowing books from the library before I’ve finished other books I’ve started (or buying books at used bookstores, or from online vendors…).

Anyway, here are the books I hope to finish (or at least start!) by the end of summer:

Marcus Borg, The Heart of Christianity

Jay McDaniel and Charles Pinches (ed.), Good News For Animals? Christian Approaches to Animal Well-Being

Michael Ramsey, God, Christ and the World

Bill McKibben, Eaarth

John Haught, God After Darwin

Paul Krugman, The Conscience of a Liberal

Harvey Kaye, Thomas Paine and the Promise of America

And…casting its vast shadow over all of these, I’ve decided, inspired by Philip Hoare’s The Whale, to take a long-delayed crack at Herman Melville’s Moby-Dick. I read it–or parts of it and superficially at least–when I was in college, but I want re-read it, really taking my time with it. They say that 20-year-olds aren’t really ready for Moby-Dick anyway. I imagine that’ll take me well into autumn (if not beyond!).

Maybe to keep myself honest I’ll update this post as I finish books on the list.

UPDATED July 19, 2010: Borg, McDaniel/Pinches, and Ramsey finished.

One thought on “ATR summer reading list

  1. I bogged down about 300 pages into Moby Dick when I was in high school. I had enjoyed the read up to that point. I tried it again a few years back. I bogged down in about the same spot. I persevered. It never got better. But I do love the first 300 pages!

Leave a Reply

